Friday, 8 July 2016

John Moores Painting Prize - Walker Art Gallery

Ira Hoffecker, Camp Moschendorf II
The John Moores Painting Prize 2016 is at the Walker Art Gallery until 27 November 2016.
It is great to see that two graduates of Fine Art at the University of GloucestershireIra Hoffecker (2015) and Alex Rennie (2000) – as well as a former Head of Painting – Emma Talbot – have been selected for the current John Moores. (Neal Rock (UoG, 1999) was selected for the previous exhibition in 2014 – see below.) 
Alex Rennie, Totem
Emma Talbot, You Came to Me in a Dream
The biennial John Moores is, arguably the most prestigious of British painting competitions. Established in 1957 it has a venerable history and includes amongst its past winners (never mind the roll call of participants) Patrick Heron (1959), Roger Hilton (1963), David Hockney (1967), Euan Uglow (1972), John Hoyland (1982), Lisa Milroy (1989), Peter Doig (1993) and Dan Hays (1997). (See the full list here.)
Below is a selection of works selected for the current show, including this year's first prize winner: Michael Simpson. (He says he will use the £25,000 prize to 'buy a lot of paint.') See here for more images and a full list of selected artists. Click on images to enlarge.
Graham Crowley, Blue Drift
Benjamin Jamie, Dissolver

Nicholas Kulkarni, Untitled
Enzo Marra, Invigilator (John Virtue)

Nancy Milner, Untitled

Mandy Payne, No Ball Games Here
Michael Simpson, Squint (19)

John Stark, Beasts of England II

1 comment:

  1. This is my first time i visit here and I found so many interesting stuff in your blog especially it's discussion, thank you.
    viral pictures